County Offices / Steam Laundry

4th & E, SW corner

This 1904 photograph looks west along E Street from Fourth Street, and shows structures then located on the south side of E Street. The buildings in this location had originally served as the county offices when the town was established in 1873. The original courthouse, seen at left, was then used by Jewel Steam Laundry, owned by F.J. Ayres. A smaller structure behind it housed the county treasurer and vault, while the jailhouse was located closer to the alley that divided the block. Other businesses farther west included J.A. Boston’s gun shop, a shoemaker, a printer, and a boarding house.

The Manning Office Building was built at this location in the 1930s.

4th and E streets, looking west, 1904. 4th and E streets, looking west, 2023.

Drag the slider to switch between past and present.

Manning Building, 4th and E Streets — circa 1951.
The Crest Theater and the Manning Building, 1953.
The Crest Theater and the Manning Building — 1953.
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x