Ford Garage

5th & C, NE corner

Completed in 1917 by John Kasparek, this building replaced the last livery barn in town. The building was originally home to the Ford Motor Company branch store where Model T automobiles were assembled and sold. Later known as the Ford Garage, it was purchased in 1944 by the White Implement Exchange, which sold automobiles, tractors, and other implements from the location. In later years, it was home to repair shops, manufacturing firms, and artists, including ceramics and woodworking entrepreneurs.

The Ford Building is now owned by Bone Creek Museum of Agrarian Art, a nonprofit organization aiming to relocate its museum here to create an educational and artistic center for Nebraska and beyond.

Ford Garage, circa 1930s Future Bone Creek Museum, 2023

Drag the slider to switch between past and present.

East side of 5th St, between D and C Streets — 1904

The future location of the Ford Garage is at the right edge of the above photograph. Taken by A.V. Thomas in 1904. The streets were still mostly dirt, with occasional sidewalks for pedestrians to use.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x