Tour Stops

Rominger Building, 1914.

343 5th St

Known as the Rominger Building and  later the KFOR Building, it was home to blacksmiths, carriage dealers, an auto and tire store, and flower shop. Currently home to Endless Summer Tanning.

Southwest corner of 5th and D Streets

It operated as a hotel for many years, with various retail businesses located on the ground floor, and was demolished in 1982. Currently the home of the Hruska Memorial Public Library.

Northeast corner of 5th and C Streets

Built in 1917 for the Ford Motor branch store, it replaced the last livery barn in town. This building is the future home of the Bone Creek Museum of Agrarian Art.

Southeast corner of 5th and D Streets

This location was previously home to businesses such as a meat market, farm implements, and  carriage shops. In the 1930s, there was a Diamond Service station. Currently home to Union Bank & Trust.

 

Northeast corner of 5th and D Streets

Originally built for a saloon, the building was remodeled for use by the Butler County State Bank and later the City Offices. Currently home to Nebraska Title Company.

5th St, from D St to E St

A wide range of businesses were located between Schweser’s on the north and the Shramek Building on the south.

Southeast corner of 5th and E Streets

Schweser’s was a Nebraska clothing store chain that began in David City. The building was later home to Novacek’s Department Store and is now used for offices and an apartment.

 

Northeast corner of 5th and E Streets

Originally built for the Central Nebraska National Bank, this building was later home to a tire store, grocery stores, and variety stores. A new building for Bank of the Valley opened in 2020.

536 5th St

The Gold Dust Saloon was two lots to the north of this store. Thomas Tavern opened here in 1934.

 

585 5th St

This building replaced the original UP Depot. After UP closed the depot, the building was relocated and remodeled for apartments.

 

Northwest corner of 5th and E Streets

Built for the the City National Bank, the building was remodeled in 1966 after a nearby fire. The current building is used for the City Offices and the Police Department.

E St, from 4th St to 5th St

Over the years, a wide variety of stores were located here, everything a hotel, a bank, drug stores, grocery and variety stores, plus clothing and hardware stores.

 

Northeast corner of 4th and E Streets

Situated at the west end of the block, the T.B. Myers Building had early tenants being Myers Drugs and later Davis Drugs. The building is now occupied by Subway Restaurant. 

A building added on the north side eventually became Sunshine Tires and is now home to David City Chiropractic.

 

557 4th St

The Fremont, Elkhorn & Missouri Valley Railroad Depot was constructed in 1887 as part of a branch line from Fremont to Hastings. It was the last railroad line to add service to David City. The location is now home to Vandenberg Electric & Communications.

 

527 4th St

Built in 1900, it was home to the Boston Studio until 1973 and McVay Photography until 1978. The building is now used by Moravec Financial Advisors.

Northwest corner of 4th and E Streets

These buildings were replaced by the Wolfe Building in 1914, which was the new home of the First National Bank and later home to the J.C. Penney’s Store and the Knights of Columbus Hall. It is now used for apartments.

 

Southwest corner of 4th and E Streets

The buildings in this location had originally served as the county offices when the town was established in 1873. The original courthouse was later used by the Jewel Steam Laundry. The Manning Building now occupies this location.

 

481 4th St

The Young Men’s Association Gymnasium opened at this location in 1912 and was built on the site of the Palace Hotel. In 1916, it became a movie theater and remained that until 1995. It is the current home of a fitness center.

4th St, from D St to E St

Both the DC Hotel and the Palace Hotel were located here, along with other businesses and dwellings. The United State Post Office sits where the DC Hotel once was.

200 D St

This is the original Burlington & Missouri River Railroad Depot, which was replaced with a new building in 1915. That building is the current home of the Butler County Historical Society Museum.

3rd and D St, south side

The Commercial Hotel and later the Derby Hotel were located on the south side of D St, west of the alley between 3rd and 4th streets. Later uses of that location included a skating rink and bowling alley, and an egg processing facility.

Southwest corner of 4th and D Streets

Built by the local lodge of the International Order of Odd Fellows in 1901, the upper floor served as their lodge hall and the first floor housed various businesses over the years. The First National Bank of Omaha is now at this location.

 

4th St, from C St to D St

The Cold Storage Company building was located on the west side of 4th Street, midway between C and D Streets. The business stored ice and perishable items such as potatoes, butter, eggs, and meat. Current businesses at this location are Hilger Construction and Insulation and Runza Restaurant.

D St, from 4th St to 5th St

Anchored by the Hotel Perkins and the Thorpe Opera House on the east half, there were a variety of businesses located on the west half including Reynolds Studio.

467 D St

Built in 1889 by William B. Thorpe, its other uses over the years included movie theaters and the Youth Center. Current businesses on the main floor include Winfield’s, The Chamber of Commerce, and The Banner-Press newspaper.

 

Downtown Square

The Romanesque-style building opened in 1890 to replace the original county offices west of the square. It remained in use until 1964 when the current courthouse was dedicated. The Butler County Justice Center was added in 2007.