F.E. & M.V. Railroad Depot

557 4th

F.E. & M.V. Depot, 1904

The Fremont, Elkhorn & Missouri Valley Railroad Depot was constructed in 1887 as part of a branch line from Fremont to Hastings. It was the last railroad line to add service to David City. The line crossed the Union Pacific tracks on the east edge of David City near what is now 11th Street and then paralleled the UP Tracks through the town. The FE&MV depot and water tank were located on the west side of 4th Street.

The FE&MV was later acquired by the Chicago and North Western Railway. The C&NW closed the depot in 1933, with any remaining business handled at the Union Pacific Depot in David City. The Linwood-Hastings C&NW line was abandoned in 1942. The C&NW Depot was then dismantled, with the materials recycled for a house in Bellwood.

FE&MV Depot, 1904. Vandenberg Electric & Communications, 2023.

Drag the slider to switch between past and present.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0 0 votes
Article Rating
Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x